### Rule Summary and Fiscal Analysis <u>Part A</u> - General Questions

Rule Number:	4747-1-22		
Rule Type:	New		
Rule Title/Tagline:	Fees.		
Agency Name:	Ohio Speech and Hearing Professionals Board		
Division:			
Address:	77 South High St. Suite 1659 Columbus OH 43215-6108		
Contact:	Gregg B. Thornton		
Email:	gregg.thornton@shp.ohio.gov	Phone:	614-644-9046

#### I. <u>Rule Summary</u>

- 1. Is this a five year rule review? No
  - A. What is the rule's five year review date?
- 2. Is this rule the result of recent legislation? Yes
  - A. If so, what is the bill number, General Assembly and Sponsor? HB 420 132 - Reps. Sykes and Boyd
- 3. What statute is this rule being promulgated under? 119.03
- 4. What statute(s) grant rule writing authority? 4744.28, 4747.04
- **5.** What statute(s) does the rule implement or amplify? 4747.04, 4747.05, 4747.06, 4747.10
- 6. What are the reasons for proposing the rule?

This rule is being proposed as a result of the board consolidation which created the Ohio Speech and Hearing Professionals Board on January 21, 2018. Fees the Board may assess for hearing aid dealers, fitters, and trainee permit holders were removed from R.C. Chapter 4747, and the Board may set appropriate fees under its rule-making authority.

# 7. Summarize the rule's content, and if this is an amended rule, also summarize the rule's changes.

This rule specifies the fees that the Board may assess for licensure applications. The public purpose of this rule is to ensure the Board collects revenue to be self-sustaining in order to fulfill its mission of consumer protection, and to inform the public of the requisite fees for licensure applications.

- 8. Does the rule incorporate material by reference? No
- 9. If the rule incorporates material by reference and the agency claims the material is exempt pursuant to R.C. 121.71 to 121.76, please explain the basis for the exemption and how an individual can find the referenced material.

#### Not Applicable

10. If revising or re-filing the rule, please indicate the changes made in the revised or re-filed version of the rule.

The RSFA #16 was updated to reflect "yes" since there is a reporting requirement.

### II. Fiscal Analysis

11. As a result of this proposed rule, please estimate the increase / decrease in revenues or expenditures affecting this agency, or the state generally, in the current biennium or future years. If the proposed rule is likely to have a different fiscal effect in future years, please describe the expected difference and operation.

This will have no impact on revenues or expenditures.

0

The Board is not creating any new licensing fees as a result of this rule. All licensing fees were previously set forth under statute and as a result of HB420, the Board may determine fees by rule. The fees that were already in place under statute will either remain the same or be lowered.

# 12. What are the estimated costs of compliance for all persons and/or organizations directly affected by the rule?

The estimated costs of compliance impacts individuals who apply for licensure as a hearing aid dealer, fitter, or trainee permit holder and to existing licensees who wish to renew their license. The application fee for a fitter remains the same at \$262. The

application fee for a dealer has been decreased from \$262 to \$200. The license renewal for a hearing aid fitter has been decreased from \$157 every year to \$120 every two years. The application and renewal fee for a trainee permit remains the same at \$150

- 13. Does the rule increase local government costs? (If yes, you must complete an RSFA Part B). No
- 14. Does the rule regulate environmental protection? (If yes, you must complete an RSFA Part C). No

#### III. Common Sense Initiative (CSI) Questions

- 15. Was this rule filed with the Common Sense Initiative Office? Yes
- 16. Does this rule have an adverse impact on business? Yes
  - A. Does this rule require a license, permit, or any other prior authorization to engage in or operate a line of business? Yes

With regard to the proposed new rule 4747-1-22 specifying fees for licensure, the nature of the adverse impact will be the cost to individuals to apply for licensure, and cost to licensees to renew their license. Employers will also be adversely impacted who cover the licensure fees for these individuals. Employers are further adversely impacted by the time spent to verify that licensees have timely renewed their license. As previously mentioned in Part A, these licensure fees were already established under statute and are being moved to the Board's rule-making authority. No new fees are being proposed. Fees will remain the same or in some instances, such as the license renewal for hearing aid dealers and fitters, the fee will decrease from \$157 every year to \$120 every two years.

- B. Does this rule impose a criminal penalty, a civil penalty, or another sanction, or create a cause of action, for failure to comply with its terms? No
- C. Does this rule require specific expenditures or the report of information as a condition of compliance? Yes

This rule specifies the fees for licenses and permits issued under Ohio Revised and Administrative Code Chapters 4744 and 4747.