Rule Summary and Fiscal Analysis <u>Part A</u> - General Questions

Rule Number:	4753-5-01		
Rule Type:	Amendment		
Rule Title/Tagline:	Speech-language pathologist or audiologist; fee for initial license; fee for renewal of license; late renewal fee.		
Agency Name:	Ohio Speech and Hearing Professionals Board		
Division:			
Address:	77 South High St. Suite 1659 Columbus OH 43215-6108		
Contact:	Gregg B. Thornton		
Email:	gregg.thornton@shp.ohio.gov	Phone:	614-644-9046

I. <u>Rule Summary</u>

- 1. Is this a five year rule review? No
 - A. What is the rule's five year review date? 12/10/2022
- 2. Is this rule the result of recent legislation? Yes
 - A. If so, what is the bill number, General Assembly and Sponsor? HB 420 132 - Reps. Sykes and Boyd
- 3. What statute is this rule being promulgated under? 119.03
- 4. What statute(s) grant rule writing authority? 4744.28, 4753.05
- 5. What statute(s) does the rule implement or amplify? 4753.07, 4753.08, 4753.091
- 6. What are the reasons for proposing the rule?

This rule is being proposed as a result of the board consolidation which created the Ohio Speech and Hearing Professionals Board on January 21, 2018 and a clean-up statute under HB 420 which streamlined licensure requirements.

7. Summarize the rule's content, and if this is an amended rule, also summarize the rule's changes.

This rule specifies the fees that the Board may assess for licensure applications. The public purpose of this rule is to ensure the Board collects revenue to be self-sustaining in order to fulfill its mission of consumer protection, and to inform the public of the requisite fees for licensure applications. The rule is being amended to reduce the late renewal fee from \$150 to \$120.

- 8. Does the rule incorporate material by reference? No
- 9. If the rule incorporates material by reference and the agency claims the material is exempt pursuant to R.C. 121.71 to 121.76, please explain the basis for the exemption and how an individual can find the referenced material.

Not Applicable

10. If revising or re-filing the rule, please indicate the changes made in the revised or re-filed version of the rule.

The changes clarify that the late renewal fee is \$120 for 90 days from the date the license expires. There is no late fee for an expired license renewed between April 1 through December 31 following the renewal period; the license fee is \$200, which is the current relicensure fee.

II. Fiscal Analysis

11. As a result of this proposed rule, please estimate the increase / decrease in revenues or expenditures affecting this agency, or the state generally, in the current biennium or future years. If the proposed rule is likely to have a different fiscal effect in future years, please describe the expected difference and operation.

This will have no impact on revenues or expenditures.

0

Not Applicable

12. What are the estimated costs of compliance for all persons and/or organizations directly affected by the rule?

The nature of the adverse impact from this rule will be the costs to licensees and businesses to obtain licensure and renew their license with the Board. The only proposed fee change under this amendment is to reduce the late fee from \$150 to \$120.

- 13. Does the rule increase local government costs? (If yes, you must complete an RSFA Part B). No
- 14. Does the rule regulate environmental protection? (If yes, you must complete an RSFA Part C). No

III. Common Sense Initiative (CSI) Questions

- 15. Was this rule filed with the Common Sense Initiative Office? Yes
- **16.** Does this rule have an adverse impact on business? Yes
 - A. Does this rule require a license, permit, or any other prior authorization to engage in or operate a line of business? Yes

The nature of the adverse impact from this rule will be the costs to licensees and businesses to obtain licensure and renew their license with the Board. The only proposed fee change under this amendment is to reduce the late fee from \$150 to \$120.

B. Does this rule impose a criminal penalty, a civil penalty, or another sanction, or create a cause of action, for failure to comply with its terms? Yes

Individuals who do not comply with this rule are subject to disciplinary action by the Board, which may include reprimand, suspension, revocation, probation, etc. for practicing under an expired license. In addition, individuals who do not renew their license by the renewal deadline are subject to the \$120 late fee.

C. Does this rule require specific expenditures or the report of information as a condition of compliance? No