ACTION: No Change DATE: 11/29/2021 2:33 PM

Rule Summary and Fiscal Analysis
Part A - General Questions

Rule Number: 4766-2-14
Rule Type: No Change

Rule Title/Tagline: Regulations for out of state providers.

Agency Name: Ohio Medical Transportation Board

Division:

Address: 1970 West Broad Street PO Box 182081 Columbus OH 43218-2081
Contact: Joseph Kirk Phone: 614-466-5605
Email: jakirk@dps.ohio.gov

I. Rule Summary

1. Is this a five year rule review? Yes
A. What is the rule’s five year review date? 11/29/2021 and 11/01/2026
2. s this rule the result of recent legislation? No
3. What statute is this rule being promulgated under? 119.03
4. What statute(s) grant rule writing authority? 4766.03

5. What statute(s) does the rule implement or amplify? 4766.04, 4766.07, 4766.13,
4766.09

6. What are the reasons for proposing the rule?
This rule is being filed according to a RC 106.03 periodic rule review.

7. Summarize the rule’s content, and if this is an amended rule, also summarize the
rule’s changes.

Rule 4766-2-14 sets forth the exemptions applied to out of state medical
transportation organizations on-boarding patients in Ohio for transport to locations
outside of Ohio or transporting patients on-boarded in states other than Ohio. The
rule reiterates the requirement of any MTO on-boarding a patient in Ohio for transport
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to a location in Ohio to be licensed in Ohio and to comply with Chapter 4766. of the
RC and OAC Chapter 4766-02.

Does the rule incorporate material by reference? No

If the rule incorporates material by reference and the agency claims the material is
exempt pursuant to R.C. 121.75, please explain the basis for the exemption and how
an individual can find the referenced material.

Not Applicable

If revising or re-filing the rule, please indicate the changes made in the revised or re-
filed version of the rule.

Not Applicable

Il. Fiscal Analysis

11.

12.

13.

14.

Please estimate the increase / decrease in the agency's revenues or expenditures in
the current biennium due to this rule.

This will have no impact on revenues or expenditures.
$0
Not Applicable.

What are the estimated costs of compliance for all persons and/or organizations
directly affected by the rule?

An out of state MTO that receives a patient in Ohio for transportation to a location in
Ohio is required to be licensed in Ohio and "is subject to Chapter 4766. of the Revised
Code and rules under this chapter and to all applicable fines and sanctions for any
violation thereof." Fees include: Initial or Renewal License Fee of $100.00 annually;
Ambulance Permit Fee per vehicle of $100.00 annually; Non-transport Vehicle Fee per
vehicle $100.00 annually; Vehicle Inspection fees of $100 per inspection.

Does the rule increase local government costs? (If yes, you must complete an RSFA
Part B). No

Does the rule regulate environmental protection? (If yes, you must complete an RSFA
Part C). No
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15. If the rule imposes a regulation fee, explain how the fee directly relates to your
agency'’s cost in regulating the individual or business.

The license and permit fees are set pursuant to section 4766.05 of the R.C. Inspection
fees were set by the Ohio Medical Transportation Board prior to its merger with the
EMFTS Board in June 2014, pursuant to section 4766.03 and section 4766.05 of the
RC and based on actual costs. The proposed rule revisions do not change the license
and permit fees or the vehicle inspection fee.

Ill. Common Sense Initiative (CSI) Questions

16. Was this rule filed with the Common Sense Initiative Office? Yes

17. Does this rule have an adverse impact on business? Yes

A.

Does this rule require a license, permit, or any other prior authorization to
engage in or operate a line of business? Yes

Rule 4766-2-14 requires MTOs based outside of Ohio that are on-boarding
patients in Ohio for transport to an Ohio location to become licensed in Ohio
and to obtain Ohio permits for ambulances and non-transport vehicles used
to transport patients within Ohio.

Does this rule impose a criminal penalty, a civil penalty, or another sanction,
or create a cause of action, for failure to comply with its terms? No

Does this rule require specific expenditures or the report of information as
a condition of compliance? Yes

Rule 4766-2-14 requires specific expenditures and the report of information as
a condition of compliance. To operate as an MTO in Ohio on-boarding patients
in Ohio for transport to Ohio locations, out of state MTOs must become
licensed in Ohio and to complete and submit the required forms to obtain the
license and Ohio permits for ambulances and non-transport vehicles used to
transport patients within Ohio. Fees include: Initial or Renewal License Fee of
$100.00 annually; Ambulance Permit Fee per vehicle of $100.00 annually; Non-
transport Vehicle Fee per vehicle $100.00 annually; Vehicle Inspection fees of
$100 per inspection.

Is it likely that the rule will directly reduce the revenue or increase the
expenses of the lines of business of which it will apply or applies? Yes
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The costs of licenses, permits, and inspection will impact out of state MTOs
operating in Ohio. Costs will vary depending on the structure and size of each
business.



