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MEMORANDUM 

 
 

TO: Joseph Kirk, Ohio Department of Public Safety 
 

FROM: Sarah JanTausch, Regulatory Policy Advocate 
 
DATE: March 1, 2017 
 
RE: CSI Review – Ambulettes (OAC 4766-03-01, 4766-03-02, 4766-03-03, 4766-03-04, 

4766-03-05, 4766-03-06, 4766-03-07, 4766-03-08, 4766-03-09, 4766-03-10, 4766-03-
12, 4766-03-13, 4766-03-14, 4766-03-15, 4766-03-16, 4766-03-17 and 4766-03-18) 

 

 
On behalf of Lt. Governor Mary Taylor, and pursuant to the authority granted to the Common 
Sense Initiative (CSI) Office under Ohio Revised Code (ORC) section 107.54, the CSI Office has 
reviewed the abovementioned administrative rule package and associated Business Impact 
Analysis (BIA). This memo represents the CSI Office’s comments to the Agency as provided for 
in ORC 107.54. 
 
Analysis 
This rule package consists of 17 rules – 11 amended,1 three new, one rescinded, and two no-
change – submitted by the Ohio Department of Public Safety’s Division of Emergency Medical 
Services (EMS) for review under the statutory five-year rule review requirement. This rule 
package is also being updated to align with the Mobile Intensive Care Unit (MoICU) rules which 
were submitted simultaneously and the Ambulance rules which were revised in 2016. The rule 
package was submitted to the CSI Office on January 4, 2017 and the public comment period was 
held open through January 26, 2017.  
 
The law requires EMS to adopt rules for the operation of ambulettes which includes permits and 
licensure for the operation of ambulettes, ambulette driver requirements and critiera for 
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disqualification, fees, inspections, vehicle equipment, staffing, communication systems, and any 
other rules deemed applicable by EMS (ORC 4766.03). EMS is proposing three new rules – Rule 
4766-3-07 requires permitted ambulette vehicles to bear “Ambulette” license plates. This 
requirement exists in law and as a result was  rescinded in 2012 and has been proposed as a new 
rule to ensure clarity with the regulated entites. Rule 4766-3-17 describes the process of licensure 
suspension, revocation, and refusal to renew and fines for violation of law or rule up to $1,500. 
Rule 4766-3-18 lists citations for a number of materials referenced throughout the chapter. The 
rules contain a number of amendments including a new $5.00 fee to cover the cost of duplicate 
vehicle decals, clarifications regarding processing of application materials for licensure and 
required documentation, a new requirement for the agency to work with applicants who submit 
incomplete applications, revised recordkeeping requirements, maintenance documentation 
requirements, a provision requiring ambulette operators to comply with state and local building 
code regualtions as they pertain to service headquarters and satellite base(s), and operational 
updates to ensure health and safety of those using ambulette services. Rule 4766-3-10 has been 
rescinded and the equipment requirements for ambulettes have been included in Rule 4766-3-08 
(Vehicle Inspections and Equipment Requirements). The communication requirements and 
regulations for out-of-state providers were not changed. As mentioned above, these changes have 
been made to the rules in alignment with MoICU and ambulance rules. 
 
During early stakeholder outreach, EMS reached out to members of the the Medical 
Transportation Committee, State Board of Emergency Medical, Fire, and Transportation Services 
(EMFTS); EMS staff and its legal staff; the medical transporataion field inspectors contracted by 
the Ohio Department of Public Safety; the 325 licensed ambulette service providers, their owners 
and employees; the Ohio Ambulance and Medical Transportation Association (OAMTA); and the 
Ohio Association of Critical Care Transport (OACCT). EMS indicated that this information was 
sent to 430 stakeholder emails and over 1,700 subscribed stakeholders. During the ESO process, 
the rules were revised. Revised rules were sent to stakeholders and EMS received two requests for 
further revisions to the rules. An exemption from holding ambulette plates was included for 
qualified gratis plate holders (OAC 4766-3-07). This exception was also revised in the MoICU 
rule package. A request to revise the deadline for license renewal materials was requested. The 
request sought to move the deadline for renewal application materials from “prior to the 
expiration date of the license” to 45 days prior to the expiration date. This change was considered, 
but ultimately was tabled as the EMFTS indicated this change would affect timelines for other 
licensed entities and may require changes to ORC.  
 
According to the BIA, the impacted business community includes 325 licensed ambulette services 
that operate a combined total of 1,762 ambulettes. Adverse impact to the business community 
includes initial or renewal license fee of $100, ambulette permit fees of $50 per vehicle, and 
inspection fees of $50 per vehicle. This rule package does not change the licensure or inspection 
fees. In alignment with the MoICU rules, EMS has proposed a new $5.00 fee to cover actual costs 



 

 

 

 

 

associated with the re-printing and mailing of a duplicate vehicle decal. This cost will not be 
applicable to any company that keeps its original vehicle decal(s) intact. Other costs include 
license suspension, revocation, or refusal to renew by the Board. Lastly, there are mechanical 
vehicle inspection costs which have been estimated in the BIA as $100 – 200 for a pre-purchase 
inspection. A stakeholder who is also the president of an ambulance company submitted the 
estimated average cost as $75 – 100 per hour for a vehicle inspection at his local garage. 
Ambulette operaters who are already conducting these inspections will see no change in their 
expenses. According to the BIA, EMS estimates that these rules will not result in any undue cost 
of compliance or adverse impact; assuring the safety and effective delivery of care to patients 
who must use an ambulette service and its vehicles justifies the minimal adverse impact to the 
business community. 
 
During the CSI comment period, one comment was received from an ambulette provider 
indicating that the vehicle maintenance requirements are overly burdensome for small businesses 
that do not have in-house mechanics. EMS responded stating that the vehicle inspections by a 
qualified mechanic ensure an added layer of protection for individuals utilizing the ambulette 
services, in addition to the visual inspections. No changes were made to the rules as a result of the 
CSI comment period. After reviewing the draft rules, BIA, and stakeholder outreach, the CSI 
Office has determined that the rule package is justified. 
 
Recommendation 
For the reasons discussed above, the CSI Office does not have any recommendations for this rule 
package.  
 
ConclusionBased on the above comments, the CSI Office concludes that the Ohio Department of 
Public Safety should proceed with the formal filing of this rule package with the Joint Committee 
on Agency Rule Review. 
 
 
cc: Mark Hamlin, Lt. Governor’s Office 


