ACTION: Final DATE: 05/04/2018 9:58 AM

MEMORANDUM

TO: David Miran, Ohio Department of Agriculture
FROM: Danielle Dillard, Regulatory Policy Advocate
DATE: February 20, 2018

RE: CSI Review — Pet Store Licensing (OAC 901:1-8-01 through 901:1-8-05)

On behalf of Lt. Governor Mary Taylor, and pursuant to the authority granted to the Common
Sense Initiative (CSI) Office under Ohio Revised Code (ORC) section 107.54, the CSI Office has
reviewed the abovementioned administrative rule package and associated Business Impact
Analysis (BIA). This memo represents the CSI Office’s comments to the Agency as provided for
in ORC 107.54.

Analysis

This rule package consists of five new rules submitted by the Ohio Department of Agriculture
(ODA). The rule package was submitted to the CSI Office on January 17, 2018 and the comment
period closed on February 2, 2018. No comments were received during this time.

The ODA is proposing Ohio Administrative Code (OAC) 901:1-8-01 through 901:1-8-05 to
comply with the state law requirement that the Department establish a licensing and
recordkeeping program for pet stores and dog retailers.® The proposed rules define “pet store” and
“dog retailer,” and set forth licensing, microchipping, and recordkeeping requirements for both
entities.

The Department notified impacted stakeholders of the proposed rules via email and provided a
link to view the rule package on the ODA website. The Department noted limited comment
during early outreach. One group posed questions to which the Department responded before
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submitting to CSI. No substantive changes were proposed during early stakeholder outreach and
no comments were received during the CSI public comment period.

The rules impact all pet stores that sell dogs, and dog retailers. Pet stores must apply for a license
with the ODA and renew that license annually, as well as ensure that any dog in the store’s
possession is microchipped. The rules also implement recordkeeping requirements for pet stores
and dog retailers. Within 24 hours of obtaining a dog, a pet store or dog retailer must document
the following information: name and address of the dog supplier, date of possession, breed,
gender, color, identifying marks, date of birth, microchip number, and certificate of veterinary
inspection. There are additional recordkeeping requirements for dogs obtained from qualified
breeders.

The Department dictates the information that must be documented but does not impose a specific
system by which pet stores and dog retailers must record the information, so the reporting impact
is minimal. There is no significant monetary impact aside from the $500 licensing fee. The
Department justifies any adverse impact because the adoption of a licensing and recordkeeping
program is required by state law. Additionally, the ODA will host informational meetings and
alert businesses it believes to be operating as a pet store of the new licensing and recordkeeping
requirements. The Department will also have online resources and field staff available to assist
with compliance.

Recommendation
For the reasons explained above, the CSI office does not have any recommendations for this rule
package.

Conclusion

Based on the above comments, the CSI Office concludes that the Ohio Department of Agriculture
should proceed with the formal filing of this rule package with the Joint Committee on Agency
Rule Review.



