4755-3-01 <u>Applications for license, limited permit or reinstatement.</u> Applications for examination, license or limited permit.

- (A) All applications for license or limited permit shall be submitted to the occupational therapy section on the forms provided and filed with the section at its principal office. A limited permit issued by the occupational therapy section shall expire on the date the results are received from the national board for certification in occupational therapy, inc. (NBCOT), or four months from the date of issue, whichever comes first. Limited permits are valid only until the results of the next exam are published. A limited permit shall not be granted to any applicant who failed the qualifying examination prior to making application for a limited permit.
- (B) Applications shall be typewritten or printed in ink, signed by the applicant, and accompanied by the fee prescribed by the rules of the occupational therapy section and by such evidence, statements or documents as specified on the form. All applications, statements and other documents so submitted shall be retained by the section.
- (C) The occupational therapy section may, in individual cases involving physical disability or illness, or undue hardship, or at the discretion of the section grant waivers of the limited permit requirements or extensions of time within which to fulfill the same or make the required reports.
 - No waiver or extension of time shall be granted unless written application therefore shall be made on forms <u>or letters</u> established by the section and signed by the licensee; and/or in cases of sickness or illness, by a physician licensed in this state or another state or territory of the United States or the District of Columbia and whose license is in good standing. <u>Extension of the limited permit may be granted at the discretion of the section only for extenuating circumstances.</u> Waivers of the limited permit requirements may be granted by the section for any period not to exceed the second test date results.
- (D) Only individuals attending occupational therapy programs which have been accredited by the accreditation council for occupational therapy education (ACOTE) of the american occupational therapy association (AOTA) are eligible for a limited permit.
- (E) Reinstatement is required for any occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant who has allowed his/her Ohio occupational therapy/occupational therapy assistant license to expire. The provisions for reinstatement/return to practice are as follows:
 - (1) A reinstatement application must be completed and returned to the occupational therapy section of the Ohio occupational therapy, physical therapy and athletic trainers board for review.

4755-3-01

- (2) The reinstatement fee shall be \$150.00.
 - (a) Applicants who have been out of practice for 0-5 years must provide proof of completion of 20 hours of continuing education within a two year period immediately preceding his/her application for reinstatement. In addition, the applicant must take and pass the Ohio occupational therapy laws and rules exam.
 - (b) Applicants who have been out of practice for more than 5 years must provide proof of completion of 20 hours of continuing education within a two year period immediately preceding his/her application for reinstatement. In addition, the applicant must take and pass the Ohio occupational therapy laws and rules examination. The applicant may be subject to additional requirements outlined by the occupational therapy section.

The occupational therapy section may consider, but is not limited to, the following additional requirements:

- (i) Professional development plan; and
- (ii) Extended coursework; and
- (iii) Clinical examination (certification examination); and
- (iv) Additional continuing education; and
- (v) Mentorship; and
- (vi) Competency based performance apprasials.

4755-3-01

Effective: 05/01/2004

R.C. 119.032 review dates: 01/22/2004 and 03/26/2007

CERTIFIED ELECTRONICALLY

Certification

04/20/2004

Date

Promulgated Under: 119.03 Statutory Authority: 4755.05 Rule Amplifies: 4755.07

Prior Effective Dates: 10/17/77, 8/23/82, 5/15/91,

1/12/96, 3/20/98