Rule Summary and Fiscal Analysis Part A - General Questions

Rule Number: 4755:1-1-01

Rule Type: New

Rule Title/Tagline: Applications for initial licensure.

Agency Name: Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers

Board

Division: Occupational Therapy

Address: 77 South High St. 16th floor Columbus OH 43215-6108

Contact: Missy Anthony Phone: 614-466-3474

Email: missy.anthony@otptat.ohio.gov

I. Rule Summary

- 1. Is this a five year rule review? No
 - A. What is the rule's five year review date?
- 2. Is this rule the result of recent legislation? No
- 3. What statute is this rule being promulgated under? 119.03
- 4. What statute(s) grant rule writing authority? 4755.06
- 5. What statute(s) does the rule implement or amplify? 4755.07, 4755.08
- 6. Does the rule implement a federal law or rule in a manner that is more stringent or burdensome than the federal law or regulation requires? No
 - A. If so, what is the citation to the federal law or rule? Not Applicable
- 7. What are the reasons for proposing the rule?

The OTPTAT Board is embarking on a project to reorganize and reduce the number of its rules. This requires a complete renumbering, and this package is part of that effort. Also, the Board is making changes to its application process and adding to its continuing education requirements.

Page 2 Rule Number: **4755:1-1-01**

8. Summarize the rule's content, and if this is an amended rule, also summarize the rule's changes.

The rule details the process for obtaining an initial license as an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant in Ohio. It includes basic steps and qualification needed in order to prove that an applicant has met the minimum requirements for licensure.

4755-3-01: This rule details the requirements to receive initial licensure as an OT or OTA in the state of Ohio. The change to this rule aligns OTPTAT Board rule English language requirement to the criteria used by the National Board of Certification for Occupational Therapy (NBCOT) to evaluate internationally educated individuals with respect to obtaining a Visa Credential Verification Certificate.

4755-3-01 and 4755-3-12: These rules have been changed to required individuals apply for initial licensure or reinstatement to view a brief video informing them of the OTPTAT Board's safe haven program. https://www.ohiophp.org/faq

- 9. Does the rule incorporate material by reference? No
- 10. If the rule incorporates material by reference and the agency claims the material is exempt pursuant to R.C. 121.75, please explain the basis for the exemption and how an individual can find the referenced material.

Not Applicable

11. If revising or re-filing the rule, please indicate the changes made in the revised or re-filed version of the rule.

Updated public hearing notice

II. Fiscal Analysis

12. Please estimate the increase / decrease in the agency's revenues or expenditures in the current biennium due to this rule.

This will have no impact on revenues or expenditures.

\$0

Not Applicable.

Page 3 Rule Number: **4755:1-1-01**

13. What are the estimated costs of compliance for all persons and/or organizations directly affected by the rule?

Fee for an initial license is \$100.

- 14. Does the rule increase local government costs? (If yes, you must complete an RSFA Part B). No
- 15. Does the rule regulate environmental protection? (If yes, you must complete an RSFA Part C). No
- 16. If the rule imposes a regulation fee, explain how the fee directly relates to your agency's cost in regulating the individual or business.

This covers the costs of the eLicense system and staff time to process the application.

III. Common Sense Initiative (CSI) Questions

- 17. Was this rule filed with the Common Sense Initiative Office? Yes
- 18. Does this rule have an adverse impact on business? Yes
 - A. Does this rule require a license, permit, or any other prior authorization to engage in or operate a line of business? Yes
 - Yes. A license is required to practice occupational therapy in the state of Ohio according to Ohio Revised Code chapter 4755.
 - B. Does this rule impose a criminal penalty, a civil penalty, or another sanction, or create a cause of action, for failure to comply with its terms? Yes
 - Practicing without a license could result in misdemeanor charges.
 - C. Does this rule require specific expenditures or the report of information as a condition of compliance? Yes
 - Yes. An application fee of \$100 and information submitted to fulfill licensure requirements.
 - D. Is it likely that the rule will directly reduce the revenue or increase the expenses of the lines of business of which it will apply or applies? No

Page 4 Rule Number: **4755:1-1-01**

IV. Regulatory Restriction Requirements under S.B. 9. Note: This section only applies to agencies described in R.C. 121.95(A).

- 19. Are you adding a new or removing an existing regulatory restriction as defined in R.C. 121.95? No
 - A. How many new regulatory restrictions do you propose adding to this rule?

Not Applicable

B. How many existing regulatory restrictions do you propose removing from this rule?

Not Applicable

C. If you are not removing existing regulatory restrictions from this rule, please list the rule number(s) from which you are removing restrictions.

Not Applicable

D. Please justify the adoption of the new regulatory restriction(s).

Not Applicable