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The Common Sense Initiative was established by Executive Order 2011-01K and placed
within the Office of the Lieutenant Governor. Under the CSI Initiative, agencies should
balance the critical objectives of all regulations with the costs of compliance by the
regulated parties. Agencies should promote transparency, consistency, predictability, and
flexibility in regulatory activities. Agencies should prioritize compliance over punishment,
and to that end, should utilize plain language in the development of regulations.
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Requlatory Intent

1. Please briefly describe the draft regulation in plain language.
Please include the key provisions of the regulation as well as any proposed amendments.

4755-3-02 — Certificate of license; display; copies

This rule states that all licensees will receive a wall certificate upon initial licensure that the
licensee must display at the licensee’s main practice location.

4755-3-03 — Educational requirements

This rule states that educational requirements referenced in the Ohio Revised Code are
satisfied by completion of an entry-level education that is accredited by the Accreditation
Council for Occupational Therapy Education (ACOTE).

4755-3-04 — Examination requirements

This rule states that applicants for licensure must pass the National Board for Certification in
Occupational Therapy (NBCOT) certification exam.

4755-3-07 — Reinstatement or reconsideration of denial of license

This rule lists the factors considered by the Occupational Therapy Section when reviewing
the application from an individual whose license was revoked or whose application for
licensure was denied.

4755-3-08 — Notice of change of address

This rule requires licensees to notify the Board of an address change within 30 days of the
change. It also specifies how the notification may be made.

4755-3-09 — Active practice defined

This rule restates the definition of active practice of occupational therapy that is contained in
the Ohio Revised Code. It clarifies that only individuals licensed by the Board may practice
or offer to practice occupational therapy.

4755-3-10 — Biennial renewal of licensure

This rule outlines the requirements for biennial renewal of an occupational
therapist/occupational therapy assistant license. As noted in the rule, all OTs must renew by
June 30 of odd-numbered years and all OTAs must renew by June 30 of even-numbered
years. If a license is issued on or after April 1 of the renewal year, the expiration date will be
June 30 of the next appropriate year (i.e.: an OT license issued on April 15, 2013 will be
valid until June 30, 2015).

4755-3-13 — Verification of licensure

This rule outlines the process to request an official license verification to another state. It
requires a written request and payment of the verification fee.

4755-3-14 — Criminal records check
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Section 4755.70 of the Ohio Revised Code requires the Board to receive the result of a
criminal records check from the Ohio BCI and the FBI prior to issuance of a license. This
rule states that the Board considers the results of the BCI/FBI criminal records check valid
for 6 months from the date received by the Board. If a license is not issued within this 6
month period, the applicant must submit new criminal records checks results to the Board.

Please list the Ohio statute authorizing the Agency to adopt this regulation.
ORC 4755.06

Does the regulation implement a federal requirement? Is the proposed regulation
being adopted or amended to enable the state to obtain or maintain approval to
administer and enforce a federal law or to participate in a federal program?

If yes, please briefly explain the source and substance of the federal requirement.

The answer is no to both questions for the rules in this package.

If the regulation includes provisions not specifically required by the federal
government, please explain the rationale for exceeding the federal requirement.

Not applicable to the rules in this package.

. What is the public purpose for this regulation (i.e., why does the Agency feel that there
needs to be any regulation in this area at all)?

The public purpose of these regulations is to ensure that the consumers of occupational
therapy services in Ohio receive services from individuals who have demonstrated the
requisite knowledge to be safe practitioners and to ensure that consumers can determine that
an individual is licensed to practice occupational therapy in the State of Ohio.

Rules 4755-3-03 and 4755-3-04 establish the minimum requirements to be eligible for a
license. These requirements include graduation from a nationally accredited occupational
therapy education program and passage of a national exam that measures entry-level
competence.

Rule 4755-3-02 requires licensees to have proof of current licensure available. With the
implementation of electronic databases, this proof can be done electronically through the
Ohio e-License Center.

Rule 4755-3-07 outlines the factors considered by the Board when reviewing an application
for reinstatement of a revoked license. This rule provides guidance to licensees applying to
reinstate since it outlines what factors are taken into account by the Board when reviewing
the reinstatement application.

Rule 4755-3-08 requires licensees to notify the Board, in writing, of an address change
within 30 days of the change. This deadline is required because the Board needs to have a
current address when mailing out renewal notices or when mailing other official mailings to
licensees. If an address change is not made in a timely fashion, the mail can get returned to
the Board office. If there is a forwarding address, we must incur the cost of postage and
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supplies to resend the mailing. If there is no forwarding address, a licensee might not receive
the notification of renewal and could potential have their license to practice expire, which
would prevent them from practicing occupational therapy in Ohio until such time as the
license is reinstated.

Rule 4755-3-10 outlines the biennial license renewal process required by ORC 4755.10. This
rule outlines the initial expiration date for new licensees, based on when the first license is
issued.

Most states require an individual seeking licensure in that state to submit an official
verification of any out of state licenses, to ensure that the individual is licensed in good
standing in the other state. Rule 4755-3-13 protects the public by outlining the official license
verification process.

Sections 4755.06 and 4755.70 of the Revised Code require all applicants for initial licensure
to submit criminal records checks from BCI and FBI. This rule outlines the process by which
an applicant must submit the criminal records check information. To ensure accuracy and
that the board receives a primary sourced document, we require the results to be received
directly from the Ohio BCI. In addition, since criminal activity can occur in a short period of
time, the Board only considers the results of the records check valid for 6 months from the
date the results are received by the Board.

6. How will the Agency measure the success of this regulation in terms of outputs and/or
outcomes?

Success will be measured by having the rules written in plain language for clarity, by no
individual receiving a license without the Board receiving a valid criminal records check, by
licensees understanding when their initial licenses expire, and by consumers who know how
to verify current licensure status of occupational therapy personnel.

Development of the Requlation

7. Please list the stakeholders included by the Agency in the development or initial review
of the draft regulation.
If applicable, please include the date and medium by which the stakeholders were initially
contacted.

The Board emailed stakeholders on February 7, 2012. Stakeholders were informed that
comments were due to the Board by Tuesday, February 21. Stakeholders included licensees
who are on the Board’s listserv, staff at the Ohio Department of Education, Office for
Exceptional Children, representatives of the Ohio Occupational Therapy Association,
representatives of the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy, the national
organization that administers the certification exam, representatives of the American
Occupational Therapy Association, representatives from the Accreditation Council for
Occupational Therapy Education (ACOTE), the national accrediting organization for entry-
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10.

11.

12.

13.

level educational programs, and the directors of the entry-level occupational therapist and
occupational therapy assistant education programs in Ohio.

What input was provided by the stakeholders, and how did that input affect the draft
regulation being proposed by the Agency?

One stakeholder suggested that the address change notification timeline be extended to 60
days. Based on operational issues, the Board felt that keeping the 30 days limit was
appropriate.

What scientific data was used to develop the rule or the measurable outcomes of the
rule? How does this data support the regulation being proposed?

This question does not apply to most of these proposed rules. The educational and exam
requirements are national requirements, established in accordance with appropriate standards.
Other rules are outlining processes followed by the Board in accordance with provisions of
the Ohio Revised Code.

Based on past experience, the Board determined that 30 days was an appropriate timeline to
require the notifications of address changes in rule 4755-3-08. The timelines outlined in the
biennial renewal rule (4755-3-10) were based on statute and operational need. State law
states that licenses shall be renewed biennially in accordance with the schedule established in
rule. Since the Board mails renewal applications in April, the renewal deadline for an initial
license is set at the following renewal period for any license issued after April 1 (which is the
tied to mailing of the renewal applications).

What alternative regulations (or specific provisions within the regulation) did the
Agency consider, and why did it determine that these alternatives were not
appropriate? If none, why didn’t the Agency consider regulatory alternatives?

Since these rules govern national standards and/or statutorily mandated procedures, the
Board did not consider alternative regulations.

Did the Agency specifically consider a performance-based regulation? Please explain.
Performance-based regulations define the required outcome, but don’t dictate the process
the regulated stakeholders must use to achieve compliance.

This question does not apply to these rules.

What measures did the Agency take to ensure that this regulation does not duplicate an
existing Ohio regulation?

This question does not apply to these rules.

Please describe the Agency’s plan for implementation of the regulation, including any
measures to ensure that the regulation is applied consistently and predictably for the
regulated community.
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This question does not really apply to these rules since the rules either govern specifying
compliance with national standards common to the profession of occupational therapy in the
United States or are no change rules that continue with current procedures followed or
required by the Board. Information regarding procedures related to the biennial license
renewal process, the verification of licensure, and the criminal records check requirements
are available on the Occupational Therapy Applications page of the Board’s website.

Adverse Impact to Business

14. Provide a summary of the estimated cost of compliance with the rule. Specifically,
please do the following:
a. ldentify the scope of the impacted business community;
Licensed occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants.

b. Identify the nature of the adverse impact (e.g., license fees, fines, employer time
for compliance);
State law requires individuals seeking to practice occupational therapy in the State of
Ohio to obtain a license to practice, which includes graduating from an accredited
educational program, passing a national exam, and submitting the results of a criminal
records check from the BCI and FBI.

c. Quantify the expected adverse impact from the regulation.
The adverse impact can be quantified in terms of dollars, hours to comply, or other
factors; and may be estimated for the entire regulated population or for a
“representative business.” Please include the source for your information/estimated
impact.
Applicants for licensure as an occupational therapist must graduate from an entry-
level master’s or doctorate program. Applicants for licensure as an occupational
therapy assistant must graduate from an entry-level associates degree program. The
NBCOT exam registration fee, including the cost to have the score sent to Ohio, is
$540. The cost for the criminal records check is $22 for the BCI and $24 for the FBI,
plus a processing fee that may be charged by the entity processing the fingerprints.

15. Why did the Agency determine that the regulatory intent justifies the adverse impact to
the regulated business community?

All states that regulate the profession of occupational therapy require graduation from an
ACOTE accredited program and passage of the NBCOT exam. By complying with national
standards, the Board can both accomplish its mission of public protection by ensuring that
applicants for licensure have met minimal standards required to ensure that the individual
will be a safe and competent practitioner and can help allow for mobility between states. The
requirements for the criminal records check and the license are established in state law.
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Requlatory Flexibility

16.

17.

18.

Does the regulation provide any exemptions or alternative means of compliance for
small businesses? Please explain.

The rule regarding educational requirements provides an alternative means of compliance for
foreign educated applicants, who did not graduate from an ACOTE accredited program, since
ACOTE only accredits U.S.-based occupational therapy educational programs. All other
rules in the package either govern requirements where there is only one way to comply or the
public protection mission of the Board can only be met via the path specified in the rule.

How will the agency apply Ohio Revised Code section 119.14 (waiver of fines and
penalties for paperwork violations and first-time offenders) into implementation of the
regulation?

Under the Board’s internal guidelines, thresholds are established that govern if a violation
falls into the non-disciplinary warning letter category. Typically, a licensee who practices for
a short period of time on an expired license will receive the warning letter instead of formal
disciplinary action. As with all violations, the Board takes aggravating and mitigating factors
into account when making the warning letter determination, too. For example, if the applicant
indicates on the reinstatement application that they did not practice on the expired license
when the actually did, the Board would view that as an aggravating factor that might lead to
formal disciplinary action, even if the individual only practiced for 2 days on the expired
license.

Regarding the criminal records check requirement, the Board has some flexibility on
extending the validity date and the requirement that the results are received directly from the
BCI. If a license is ready to be issued by the fingerprint results are 6.5 months old, the Board
will typically still consider the results to be acceptable and does not require the applicant to
submit updated fingerprints. In addition, if a law enforcement agency, in error, has the results
returned to the agency instead of the Board, the Board will accept the results if they are
received in a sealed envelope from the law enforcement agency. We do not accept the results
if they are sent by a non-law enforcement agency.

What resources are available to assist small businesses with compliance of the
regulation?

The Board and its staff are dedicated to working with members of the regulated community
and the public to ensure that the consumers of occupational therapy services in Ohio receive

safe and effective services from the Board’s licensees. As a result, the following resources
are available:

Board’s mailing address:
77 S. High Street, 16" Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215
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Board’s phone number: 614-466-3774
Board’s fax number: 614-995-0816
Board’s website: http://otptat.ohio.gov

Board’s email: board@otptat.ohio.gov

To Join a Board listserv: http://otptat.ohio.gov/consumers/boardlistservs.aspx
Board’s Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/OhioOTPTATBoard
Board’s Twitter: http://twitter.com/OhioOTPTATBd
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